|
|||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
This possible scam involves the following: (Note: details may vary) You receive a phone call from an employee of an overseas company who informs you that someone has registered your practice/company's domain name (eg. www.yourbusiness.com) either for themselves or on behalf of someone else and that you can buy the domain for R 5 000. If you get this call either tell them you are not interested or make enquiries about it's legitimacy before you agree to anything!! I checked one of the domains that the member was informed was in fact registered and found it to still be available. From this it can deduced that it is a scheme to either get your credit card information or for you to deposit the money for the domain into a fraudulent bank account. But take note that there are people and companies that register certain domain names with the sole intention of reselling it again to make money. This may be one of those companies. These people introduce themselves as a company that tries to prevent fraudulent activities on the net. And from what I could gather they say that they checked to see that you have a company with the name that is registered and you should be informed that someone else is going to use it. This seems highly unlikely considering the millions of companies out there and the amount of time, effort and money it takes to track down companies with similar names. Another way they can phrase the call is that you may think someone registered the domain on your behalf and you owe the registrar money. All the registrars I've dealt with requires payment before registering the domain to protect themselves against fraudulent activities. And if someone claims to have done it on your behalf, request proof that you gave the order. The most important thing to do if you get this call:
Information regarding domain names
If you
have any questions, please send an e-mail to
info
[at]123internet.co.za. |
|
|